Intel® FPGA University Program
University Program Material, Education Boards, and Laboratory Exercises
Announcements
Intel Support hours are Monday-Fridays, 8am-5pm PST, except Holidays. Thanks to our community members who provide support during our down time or before we get to your questions. We appreciate you!

Need Forum Guidance? Click here
Search our FPGA Knowledge Articles here.
1098 Discussions

Building serial communication...

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi, 

I am using a FLEX10K UP2 board and want to do some image processing on it. I would like to build an 8-bit internal RAM for my FPGA in order for my design file to write data to the RAM and read data from my CPU. I have been advised to use the serial communication to achieve data interaction between my CPU and FPGA. Since I am a beginner here, my questions would be: 

• Any suggestion on creating internal RAM? By using and altsyncram and associate it to my design file? 

• If so, then how to establish a serial commucation between my CPU and then internal RAM? Is SOPC Builder useful here? In the mean time, I have done some reading on UART, RS232, parallel-in-serial-out register and serial-in-parallel-out register. 

I really appreciate for any references related to above issues. 

Thanks.
0 Kudos
8 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Due to the limited LE capacity of Flex10k, SOPC wouldn't be a good idea. 

Regarding simple UART reference designs. Did you notice the projects from opencores, e.g.: 

http://www.opencores.org/projects.cgi/web/uart/overview
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi, 

If you don’t stick to serial communication, you can use In-System Sources and 

Probes to read and write a FPGA internal RAM.  

http://www.altera.com/literature/hb/qts/qts_qii53021.pdf 

This tool provides a kind of parallel I/O ports resident in your FPGA. You can control the I/O ports through a JTAG cable and a TCL script.
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II