Intel® FPGA University Program
University Program Material, Education Boards, and Laboratory Exercises
1174 Discussions

DE2 Lab 4, Part 4 (VHDL) - Digital Logic

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

I'm new to VHDL and FPGAs but need to learn how to program with it for my graduate studies. I decided to try out the tutorials and labs on Altera's web site to get a start and have managed to work my way up to this lab. (Btw, if anyone has any other tutorials, books you'd recommend to a beginner, I'd love to hear about them). 

Anyway, I got up to Lab 4, Part 4. In order to get it to work I've used a 26-bit counter from the megafunctions library. 50 000 000 clock cycles (10111110101111000010000000 in binary) from the CLOCK_50 MHz signal corresponds to 1 sec of course. After the counter reaches this point through value Count, I increment the Num signal and assert the Clear signal in the counter, otherwise the Clear signal remains off. I also have an if statement to keep the Num within 0-9 on the 7-segment display. My logic can be seen in the top level code below.