Intel® FPGA University Program
University Program Material, Education Boards, and Laboratory Exercises
1175 Discussions

DE2 Lab 7, Part 7 (VHDL) - Digital Logic

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

I just started learning VHDL and FPGA programing a couple of weeks ago and am currently working on Lab 7, Part 7 of the DE2 digital logic VHDL labs provided by Altera. 

In this lab you have to code two finite-state machines. One for a scrolling 'hello' and another to determine what speed it should scroll at, judging on the key button the user presses. 

I'm having trouble with the FSM that recognizes the speed. As it explains in the lab, if you press KEY(1) it increases in speed and if you press KEY(2) it decreases. I want to make this on the falling edge of each key press so that there is only one state change for each button press. 

Here is the code I have for the FSM. Obviously this isn't correct and won't compile but I'm just copying it to illustrate where I'm stuck: 

PROCESS (KEY(1), KEY(2)) BEGIN CASE y2 IS WHEN A => IF ((KEY(1)'event) AND (KEY(1) = '0')) THEN y2 <= B; ELSIF ((KEY(2)'event) AND (KEY(2) = '0')) THEN y2 <= D; END IF; Stop <= 50000000; WHEN B => IF ((KEY(1)'event) AND (KEY(1) = '0')) THEN y2 <= C; ELSIF ((KEY(2)'event) AND (KEY(2) = '0')) THEN y2 <= A; END IF; Stop <= 25000000; WHEN C => IF ((KEY(1)'event) AND (KEY(1) = '0')) THEN y2 <= C; ELSIF ((KEY(2)'event) AND (KEY(2) = '0')) THEN y2 <= B; END IF; Stop <= 12500000; WHEN D => IF ((KEY(1)'event) AND (KEY(1) = '0')) THEN y2 <= A; ELSIF ((KEY(2)'event) AND (KEY(2) = '0')) THEN y2 <= E; END IF; Stop <= 100000000; WHEN E => IF ((KEY(1)'event) AND (KEY(1) = '0')) THEN y2 <= D; ELSIF ((KEY(2)'event) AND (KEY(2) = '0')) THEN y2 <= E; END IF; Stop <= 200000000; END CASE; END PROCESS;For clarification, the variable 'Stop' tells my other FSM how many clock cycles it should go through before moving the letters left.