Intel® FPGA University Program
University Program Material, Education Boards, and Laboratory Exercises
1174 Discussions

Help - trying to combine a state-machine file with a bdf schematic

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi, first time posting. I am new to Q II and FPGAs and am trying hard to learn but am handicapped in that I have very little VHDL experience and no courses under my belt, just self instruction (and I'm not a spring chicken(:>)). 

I have created a simple state-machine using the wizard. I then generated the VHDL file. I don't think it matters but I modified the VHDL state-machine to display the state variables since the wizard doesn't seem to allow this. So lets just say I have created a VHDL state-machine having Moore outputs and a number of inputs that will ultimately come from a bdf schematic but initially are just pins of the DE-2 kit. 

This VHDL SM works, it seems. Seems, because I have issues with the active level of the signals, i.e. the DE-2 pushbuttons sit high and I want the opposite, etc. I really don't want to have to commit to a particular active level if possible since this should be something that can be easily altered at any time. I would normally address this via port properties in a bdf but can't seem to do this via the state-machine format?? That's one issue. 

However I would like to utilize the SM in a more extensive bdf file that would generate some of the inputs that are used by the SM. Having never done this I am running into problems. There are clashes over entities and libraries - I don't have the exact messages to refer to at this moment. 

Any advice regarding combining files in a single project such as I wish to do would be much appreciated. 

Jack
0 Kudos
3 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

You can use the "create HDL from current file" in order to obtain a VHDL or Verilog file that can be added to your project and instantiated in the top level entity.