Intel® FPGA University Program
University Program Material, Education Boards, and Laboratory Exercises
1174 Discussions

SD Card read fails on NIOS2 DE2 Board

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi guys, 

I am a university student trying to get the demonstration project working. The project that I am trying to get it to work is, DE2_SD_Card_Audio. I am able to synthesize and transfer the SOF file to the FPGA. However, when I run the NIOS 2 project on the FPGA, I get the following error,  

[AUDIO] set audio reg[15] = 0000h 

[AUDIO] set audio reg[09] = 0000h 

[AUDIO] set audio reg[00] = 0017h 

[AUDIO] set audio reg[01] = 0017h 

[AUDIO] set audio reg[02] = 005Bh 

[AUDIO] set audio reg[03] = 005Bh 

[AUDIO] set audio reg[04] = 003Dh 

[AUDIO] set audio reg[05] = 0000h 

[AUDIO] set audio reg[06] = 0000h 

[AUDIO] set audio reg[07] = 0042h 

[AUDIO] set audio reg[08] = 0002h 

[AUDIO] set audio reg[09] = 0001h 

[AUDIO] AUDIO_Init success 

[AUDIO] set audio reg[02] = 0078h 

[AUDIO] set audio reg[03] = 0078h 

[AUDIO] set Line-Out vol(120,120) success 

Please insert SD card. 

find sd card 

[fat]read section 0 error. 

[fat]fat_mount fail 

sd card mount fail. 

How do I fix this ?
0 Kudos
16 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

What is 

1. Size of SD card 

2. Speed / class of SD card 

3. Format of the SD card 

???
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

SD Card size - 4Gb 

Class - Class 4 

Formatted with Fat 16, Fat 32 , both failed.
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Try a SD Card 2 GB (maximum) formatted into FAT16 system

0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Thanks for the quick response . I will tty that. In many places on the internet I read that 4 GB is max for fat16Also can I use a 4 GB SD card format it to 2 GB partition and try .

0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II