Intel® FPGA University Program
University Program Material, Education Boards, and Laboratory Exercises
1175 Discussions

converting RAW to RGB

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi there. I am a very new beginner to fpga design. I am using a DE2-70 board with a camera and LCD kit. 

Right now, i have attached a picture of what a demo program essentially does. My job is to find out what is going on during the RAW2RGB process.  

I have attached the source code and i was wondering if someone could describe to me what is going on? I am totally in the dark. 

For instance, what does this bit of code do: 

always@(posedge iCLK or negedge iRST_n) 

begin 

if (!iRST_n) 

begin 

rRed<=0; 

rGreen<=0; 

rBlue<=0;  

end 

i know that it sets rRed,rGrean,rBlue to zero, but i have no idea what function it produces, and what kind of condition that would be! 

Also what do the variables X_cont and Y_cont mean? 

Someone please help! 

Thanks! 

Allen
0 Kudos
5 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Without going in to your code in detail I can offer the following advice. 

http://www.asic-world.com/verilog/ 

Contains a lot of info on Verilog coding which may be of interest. 

The code fragment you posted is a bit out of context, the code following is important to. 

always@(posedge iCLK or negedge iRST_n) 

begin 

if (!iRST_n) 

begin 

rRed<=0; 

rGreen<=0; 

rBlue<=0;  

end 

else if ({mirror_sw,iY_Cont[0],iX_Cont[0]} == 3'b011) 

begin 

if (iY_Cont == 12'd1) 

begin 

rRed<=wData1_d1; 

Basically this means that the code following the always is executed on a rising edge of iClk (This is the clock) or a falling edge of iRst_n (This is a reset). 

The first if(iRST_n) is executed when when iRST_n = 0; 

The else part is executed when iClk is rising. This is the synchronous part of the process and controls the inputs to flip flops. 

These are just a few pointers and I really suggest that you read a good tutorial on Verilog programming. 

Good luck
0 Kudos