Intel® Fortran Compiler
Build applications that can scale for the future with optimized code designed for Intel® Xeon® and compatible processors.
28385 Discussions

Catastrophic error compiling Fortran project with oneAPI 2023.0.0

Scott_Boyce
New Contributor I

Hi All,

I am a developer for a Fortran project called MODFLOW-OWHM. After updating my oneAPI from 2022.1.1 to 2023.0.0, I am now getting a:

catastrophic error: **Internal compiler error: segmentation violation signal raised** Please report this error along with the circumstances in which it occurred in a Software Problem Report. 

message.

The project has a Fortran only option and I am compiling with the Intel Fortran Compiler Classic to create this error. In particular, Intel Fortran Compiler Classic (ifort) 2021.7.1 compiles fine, while 2021.8.0 raises the error.

I get the same error, but for a different file, if I try the Intel Fortran Compiler (ifx) 2023.0.0, but I have never been able to compile with that (previously ifx would raise errors saying feature not yet supported, but now it just says catastrophic error).

The source code is hosted at:

https://code.usgs.gov/modflow/mf-owhm 

(gitlab source repository)

with the main source under the src folder, a makefile for compiling in linux, and for windows a solution file located at ide/visual_studio/OneWater_Project.sln

For ifort, I get the same error on both linux and windows with the error happening in src/modflow_base/wel8.f90

I am using Windows Visual Studio 2019, my debug compliation, and the problem file has the following message: