Intel® Fortran Compiler
Build applications that can scale for the future with optimized code designed for Intel® Xeon® and compatible processors.

Data from two .txt files

mechprog
Beginner
Hello,

I have data from two text files (see attached) and I will like find the average for numbers in file and one and the average for numbers in file 2 and then do the following calculation

(Average from file 1) - (Average from file 2)

This may sound very simple, however I am new to fortran and I have been unable to find a similar example in books or online.

I would really appreciate some help or a similar example.

Thanks
0 Kudos
12 Replies
andi_zuend
Beginner

Hi mechprog,

For that task you will need to read the contents of the two files into Fortran arrays and then you can perform whatever operation you like on the data. Hence, use the OPEN command to read the data (see the Fortran help); here it is best to put it in allocatable arrays so that you can fit the size of the arrays to the number of lines in your input files in a flexible way (i.e., check for end-of-file (EOF) while reading the data from the files).

Best,

Andi

0 Kudos
Steven_L_Intel1
Employee
You don't have to read into an array. Read values from one file, add them up, then divide the sum by the number of values read. Repeat for the other. Very simple scalar code - can probably be done in a dozen lines or so.
0 Kudos
Les_Neilson
Valued Contributor II

declare your variables.
open file1
initialize sum1 to zero
initialize counter1 to zero
read file1 into value1 don't forget to handle end of file (and possibly an error situation).
add value1 to sum1
increment counter1
go back to read file1 ("read" to "go back" could be done using a do-enddo loop)

at end of file1:
calculate average1 from sum1 and counter1

repeat for file2, sum2, counter2 and average2

calculate difference between average1 and average2

Les

0 Kudos
mechprog
Beginner

Thanks everyone,