Intel® Fortran Compiler
Build applications that can scale for the future with optimized code designed for Intel® Xeon® and compatible processors.
28381 Discussions

ERROR on reading a direct access, formatted file

SinaR93
Beginner

Dear All
Hi

I am new to Fortran and I'm trying to read a specific line in a text file that is generated with python (numpy library).

I searched and find that maybe I can do this using direct access to a file like below:

Please see the attached image:

OPEN(105,FILE='D:\elgr.data', &
 access='direct',recl=17,form='formatted')

READ(105, fmt='(I8,I8)', rec=n) id,gid

data is written to file using numpy:

np.savetxt(file_name, data, fmt='%-8d %-8d')

that produces txt file like the image:
two 8 width integers with space between

it only results in: severe (64) input conversion error
I can not find out how to solve the problem,

If you could give me some clues, I really appreciate it.
many thanks in advance
Sina
0 Kudos
14 Replies
mecej4
Honored Contributor III

It is difficult to respond to an incomplete and vague report such as this. You have not presented the actual data file or the fortran source code, and you made it necessary to know or use Python to guess what is in the data file.

Here is my guess. The data file actually contains ten characters per line, plus one or two characters to separate lines (LF or CR+LF), because the Python print statement left-justified the data in each 8-character field. (Most text editors strip blanks from the right side of lines in text files. Text editors usually do not show "non-printable" characters, so a screen-shot of a data file opened in a text editor is hardly useful when the exact contents matter.) The result is that the actual record length is no longer 17, but something else.

I have attached a zip file containing a data file with two records, and a program that reads that file without error.