Intel® Fortran Compiler
Build applications that can scale for the future with optimized code designed for Intel® Xeon® and compatible processors.

Error #8284 while running a .f90 code

T__Dhinesh
Beginner

Hi,

I have an old .f90 FORTRAN code (gfortran). I am trying to run the code from Visual Studio but I see some errors. I have the following tools/ compilers in my windows 7 64 bit system,

Visual Studio 2013 premium

Visual FORTRAN Compiler XE 14.0 Update 3

I could run the code(s) from the command prompt using gfortran compiler. I want to run the same code in visual studio so that I can edit and debug the code easily (I am new to Visual Studio though).

I added the below in the Visual studio directory in Tools > Options > Intel Composer XE > Visual Fortran > Compilers,

Includes: $(FNL_DIR)\Intel64\include\dll

Libraries: $(FNL_DIR)\Intel64\lib

I couldn’t open the .f90 script in visual studio (File > Open > Project) as it is not seeing any .f90 files from my folder. But I could create new FORTRAN .f90 code (File > New > Project >Intel ® Visual Fortran > Console Application > Main Program Code) and execute “Hello World” program successfully. I tried copy the main code and overwrite the hello world program with the main code and added all the other files path from Project > Add Existing Item, and below are the errors I got,

Error      1             error #8284: If the actual argument is scalar, the dummy argument shall be scalar unless the actual argument is of type character or is an element of an array that is not assumed shape, pointer, or polymorphic.   [XNEW]             C:\Users\S267564\Desktop\sCO2 Codes\sel_sco2_brayton_model\Netlib\subplex\simplx.f  161