Intel® Fortran Compiler
Build applications that can scale for the future with optimized code designed for Intel® Xeon® and compatible processors.
28457 Discussions

Fortran Error: The number of subscripts is incorrect

crash1010
Beginner

Hi! I'm a complete beginner in programming and Fortran. This subroutine is part of a mastermind game where the computer guesses my 4 digit color code (6 colors to chose from) . After the computer guesses a random code the user can input the number of  black sticks (if colors are on the right spot and the right color) and the number of white sticks (if the colors are right but not on the right spot). After compiling this subroutine called 'solve' I got many errors about the matrix where i want to store 0 and 1 (for possible and not possible colour codes). Can anybody help my how to define this matrix and what my errors mean? 

Thanks a lot in advance.

Subroutine SOLVE(n, sN, wN, field)
IMPLICIT NONE

INTEGER :: sN, wN, aus, l, k, j, i, n, sB(n), wB(n)
INTEGER, DIMENSION (10,4) :: field

aus = 0          !at the beginning there are 0 eliminated combinations

! this loop goes through every possible colour combination (6x6x6x6)
DO l = 1, 6, 1
   DO k = 1, 6, 1
      DO j = 1, 6, 1
         DO i = 1, 6, 1
            IF (n == 1) THEN  !in the first round n of the game every combination is         still possible therefore the matrix A should be set to 0
            A(l,k,j,i)="0"
            ELSE
            A(l,k,j,i)="0" !after the second round another program called         "bewertung" (in german this means "evaluation") checks if the user input matches the codes 

CALL Bewertung (spielfeld(n),l,k,j,i,sB(n),wB(n))
              IF ((sN(n)==sB(n)) .and. (wN(n)==wB(n))) THEN !if they match then the numbers should stay the same and the entries in the matrix should stay the same too
              field(n+1,1)= l
              field(n+1,2)= k
              field(n+1,3)= j
              field(n+1,4)= i
              ELSE