Intel® Fortran Compiler
Build applications that can scale for the future with optimized code designed for Intel® Xeon® and compatible processors.
28381 Discussions

Getting error message "error #7002: Error in opening the compiled module file. Check INCLUDE paths. [MPI]"

D_2
Beginner

Hi,

I am an engineering student, working on a project that requires the use of Fortran code (this is to clarify - I'm not a developer or a computing student, so I'm finding troubleshooting this software is a bit tricky...) The code I need to run uses MPI libraries.

I've installed VS 2018 + Parallel Studio + MPI services as recommended on the Intel website (here - https://software.intel.com/en-us/mpi-developer-guide-windows-prerequisite-steps) The hydra_service is running fine, and I can see all of the requisite files in the Intel folders.

I've used the recommended settings in the project from here https://software.intel.com/en-us/mpi-developer-guide-windows-configuring-a-visual-studio-project ;

However, when I try to build my test project (a simple hello world one, with MPI), it won't build, and won't run.

I'm getting the error messages:

error #7002: Error in opening the compiled module file.  Check INCLUDE paths.   [MPI]

Project : warning PRJ0018 : The following environment variables were not found: $(I_MPI_ROOT)

And I don't know how to fix it... 

I would really appreciate some ideas / directions about what's going on, and how to fix it. 

Thank you!

Daria

0 Kudos
10 Replies
Lorri_M_Intel
Employee

The instructions told you to use the I_MPI_ROOT environment variable, assuming that it would be defined system-wide.  

Here's my suggestion.   Open a command windows, and invoke the mpivars.bat file as described in the first link you referenced.    Find the translation of I_MPI_ROOT by using the command "echo %I_MPI_ROOT%"

Then, go back into Developer Studio, and where you had specified $(I_MPI_ROOT) before --- replace that with the value you got in the command window/.