Intel® Fortran Compiler
Build applications that can scale for the future with optimized code designed for Intel® Xeon® and compatible processors.

Installer says another instance of the installer is running

Sourish_B_
Beginner

Hello,

This is my first time posting to this forum, not sure if this is the right forum for this question. Apologies if that is not the case.

Some time back I had installed Intel Parallel Studio XE on my 64-bit Ubuntu 12.04 machine, at which time I had only installed a few selected components. Recently, I realized that I needed to install Vtune amplifier to profile my code. So I downloaded a file called "parallel_studio_xe_2015_update3.tgz", un-tar-gzed it, ran the installer and chose to modify my installation. At this point, I got a message saying that there was another instance of the installer running (there wasn't). The full screen looks as follows:

This product is already installed
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Installation program has detected that at least one component of the product is 
already installed. Select one of the following options to continue: 
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
1. Modify the installation [default]
2. Repair the installation
3. Uninstall the product

h. Help
q. Quit
Please type a selection or press "Enter" to accept default choice [1]: 1
Another instance of the installation program has been detected. Please quit the 
other instance and try again.
Press "Enter" key to quit:

I've even tried rebooting the machine, to kill off any processes which might be causing this. But this is a perfectly reproducible problem. Has anyone seen something like this before? How do I get the installer to run?

Thanks,

Sourish

0 Kudos
11 Replies
TimP
Honored Contributor III