Intel® Fortran Compiler
Build applications that can scale for the future with optimized code designed for Intel® Xeon® and compatible processors.

Intel Fortran and MKL: How to include lapack.f90 and mkl.fi

Nicolas_P_
Beginner

I need to use a subroutine from MKL LAPACK in my program. I was reading that, in orden to use that subroutine in my program, I need to include lapack.f90 and mkl.fi in my program an then use -mkl option when I compile it. But this is not quite easy thing to do it (for me). Because I read that those files are precompiled and I need to compile it, and this is the question: how I compile those files? and how to use those files in my program?. I need exactly the code to do it, because I'm not a programmer and I don't understand some things, I'm just only a physics graduate student that use only ifort to compile and no more than that. Hope you can help me.

0 Kudos
2 Replies
mecej4
Honored Contributor III

You need to worry about those files only if you wish to have interface checking done or if you call an MKL routine that requires an explicit interface to be provided.

You can compile lapack.f90 by itself (i.e., without naming it in an INCLUDE statement in your program). The compilation will produce one or more module files, which you can name in USE statements in your source code if you so desire or need.

I need exactly the code to do it, because I'm not a programmer and I don't understand some things

You are a programmer now. You have to learn these "things", and they are quite logical and well-documented.

0 Kudos
Nicolas_P_
Beginner

Hi, thanks for the reply. A further research in the documentation give me the answer. lapack.f90 is already compiled and ready to use under the use statement. One only need to add the following statements in the main program :

use lapack95
use f95_precision