Intel® Fortran Compiler
Build applications that can scale for the future with optimized code designed for Intel® Xeon® and compatible processors.

Inverting a very small matrix and MKL help

dboggs
New Contributor I

My application will need to invert many thousands of small (2x2, 3x3, 4x4) matrices. Regrettably, F90 includes only a few matrix ops but not inverse, not even determinant.

For the 2x2 and 3x3 versions I am seriously considering coding this using a "by hand" algorithm much like we learned in elementary linear algebra, using the adjoint matrix and determinate. Code for this is farily simple and can be found on line, along with claims that it is faster than LAPACK--which has a lot of overhead and is really designed for efficiency on much much much larger matrices. Does anyone have experience with this?

In the grander scheme of things, I WOULD like to try MKL just for the learning and experience. I have never used MKL before. Doing this for the first time, trying to follow the Intel documentation, is daunting. Can some one give me a simple example of using say the MKL > LAPACK subroutine ?pftri, including the necessary setup steps (e.g. set project properties to link with the necessary MKL library, but I think there must be more), USE and INCLUDE files, etc? Surely it is simpler than it seems for a novice going at it the first time.

And btw, I'm well aware of the advice to not use the matrix inverse method to solve a system of linear equations. I'm not doing that and I really want to get the matrix inverses--so please dispense with that lecture!

0 Kudos
12 Replies
mecej4
Honored Contributor III

Are the matrices symmetric? Positive definite?

Have you looked at the MKL example source codes that are included as Zip files with the MKL or Parallel Studio distributions?