Intel® Fortran Compiler
Build applications that can scale for the future with optimized code designed for Intel® Xeon® and compatible processors.

Is it possible for f90 link to MySQL?

Hang_S_
Beginner

I'm using linux and wander whether it's possible to link to MySQL in f90. Any suggestion is appreciated!

0 Kudos
10 Replies
TimP
Honored Contributor III

You probably noticed there is a prior thread about this

http://software.intel.com/en-us/forums/topic/344492

but you aren't at all specific about what problem you are facing.

0 Kudos
Steven_L_Intel1
Employee

Well, that other thread is for Windows.  Doing a Google search on "mysql fortran linux" shows several promising links. http://asthomas.com/mysql_dist/MySQL_AST.htm looks especially interesting.

0 Kudos
Hang_S_
Beginner

Thank you very much for the reply!

I have google a lot, and found some solution, but I'm new in both linux and mysql, it's very hard to follow those step. Here is what I did:

I have downloaded mysql.f90by Daniel Kraft. Then I compiled it with ifort -c mysql.f90 to got the myfortran_binding.mod and mysql.o . Then I wrote a main program test.f90 with only one sentenct USE myfortran_binding and compiled it. Then I linked the two together with ifort test.o mysql.o and got the following errors

mysql.o: In function `myfortran_binding_mp_myfortran_connect_':
mysql.f90:(.text+0x61): undefined reference to `mysql_init'
mysql.f90:(.text+0x261): undefined reference to `mysql_connect'
mysql.f90:(.text+0x2b6): undefined reference to `c_error'
mysql.o: In function `myfortran_binding_mp_myfortran_disconnect_':
mysql.f90:(.text+0x344): undefined reference to `mysql_close'

and so on. I'm sure I have missed something important but I don't know what is it

0 Kudos
TimP
Honored Contributor III

Did you have a mysql library to link against?

0 Kudos
Hang_S_
Beginner