Intel® Fortran Compiler
Build applications that can scale for the future with optimized code designed for Intel® Xeon® and compatible processors.

Olden days of Fortran question

JohnNichols
Valued Contributor III
IF(IT.LE.49) GO TO 476                    !   00335000

WRITE(*,70107)                       !   00336000
70107 FORMAT(" ","CONVERGENCE FLAG: UNABLE TO ACHIEVE SATISFACTORY CLUST1ERS AFTER 50 ITERATIONS.")     !   00338000

476 WRITE(6,466)                        !   00339000
466 FORMAT(" ",//," NO. OF CLUSTERS",3X,"PART. COEFF.",5X,"LOWER BOUND",5X,"ENTROPY",5X,"NUMBER OF ITERATIONS")

I have been programming Fortran since 1978, I have seen the ! 0033500 numbers before - but what were they for? 

Did these olden day folk, always use the if ..... goto ... instead of a proper if   then else etc... 

0 Kudos
27 Replies
JohnNichols
Valued Contributor III

@TonyRichards  commented :

I liked the GO TO and agree depths of IFs, Elseifs endifs can be difficult to interpret at times.

--------------------

This latest Fuzzy Means has some hard to follow goto statements so cleaning those up has made a world of difference.  

--------------------------------------------------------

The other problem is for a short program if you have a read statement and you include a end section, then you have code such as 

goto 2100

2000 Stop 'End of file'
2100 continue

END  ! of test program

this to get around the end line.  Any suggestions on improvement would be welcome.  If you put the read in a subroutine you can use the return to screen off the 2000 statement, but not in main.  

0 Kudos
ripittard
New Contributor I

I too learned Fortran IV with punched cards.  The punching machines were always busy.  One day I found one that was opened and spent several hours typing my program.  I then waited for the results after submiiting the card deck only to find that I had used an EBCDIC punch machine instead of BCD and had to repeat that proecess on a correct punch.

0 Kudos