Intel® Fortran Compiler
Build applications that can scale for the future with optimized code designed for Intel® Xeon® and compatible processors.

Passing by reference from Fortran to C and back

johnnyontheweb
Beginner

Dear all,

I read may post in this forum about using C DLLs in Fortran programs. I'm stuck in a problem of basic operations (the main problem here is that I'm a very beginner in such things ....) in passing a string (defined as char) from a C to Fortran. In a C DLL I have this:

__declspec(dllexport)
		void getArr(char &out)
	{
		strcpy(&out, "hello");
	}

and in a separate Fortran program this:

program FortranCallC

implicit none

interface
        subroutine getArr(a) bind(C, name="getArr")
        USE,INTRINSIC :: ISO_C_BINDING
        !DEC$ ATTRIBUTES REFERENCE :: a
        CHARACTER, DIMENSION(*), INTENT(INOUT) :: a
        end subroutine
      end interface 

CHARACTER(LEN=128) :: stringa

call getArr(stringa)
    write(*,*)"->",trim(stringa),"<-"

pause
    end program

The Fortran program displays a strange line in the write(*,*) statement, and, after many posts read and lot of hours wasted, I cannot figure out why. The string I get is like this:

-> hello                                                             <-

and I cannot trim() it. In the debugger (VS2013) I see many rectangular characters instead of the white spaces pasted here.

I'm sorry if this post could seem obvious, but the solution is hard to find for me.

Secondly, what if I decide to pass the pointer of the string? Can I make it work in the same way? I tried many ways but no success ...

Regards,

Giovanni

0 Kudos
7 Replies
FortranFan
Honored Contributor II

What exactly are you trying?  What is getArr function in C supposed to do?

Look into what C strcpy function does with null termination and the functioning of Fortran TRIM intrinsic with the presence of C null termination character in the actual argument variable.

0 Kudos
FortranFan
Honored Contributor II