Intel® Fortran Compiler
Build applications that can scale for the future with optimized code designed for Intel® Xeon® and compatible processors.
28381 Discussions

Performance of Defined Input/Output Procedure

hentall_maccuish__ja
New Contributor II

Hello,

I’m new to defined input/output procedures and I find that the one I have written is eating up 80% of my runtime. I’m trying to saving a lot of data to disk but this still doesn’t seem correct to me; I am generating and processing all this data in the program as well, so just saving it to disk taking 80% of the runtime seems disproportionate. I can see why my I/O procedure would induce a lot of loops and be slow; however, being new to defined I/O procedures I’m not sure what I can do about it. Any suggestion would be greatly appreciated. The defined type I am trying to save with its routine is below.

Thanks,

Jamie

Module Policy
    implicit none
    type sparseCOOType
        integer :: col
        integer :: row
        real :: val
    end type sparseCOOType

type policyType
        type(sparseCOOType), allocatable :: COO(:)
    contains
    procedure :: write_sample => write_container_sample_impl
    procedure :: read_sample  => read_container_sample_impl

generic   :: write(unformatted) => write_sample
    generic   :: read(unformatted) => read_sample
    end type policyType
    contains

subroutine write_container_sample_impl(this, unit, iostat, iomsg)
    class(policyType), intent(in)    :: this
    integer, intent(in)         :: unit
    integer, intent(out)        :: iostat
    character(*), intent(inout) :: iomsg
    integer :: i

write(unit, iostat=iostat, iomsg=iomsg) size(this%COO)
    do i=1,size(this%COO)
        write(unit, iostat=iostat, iomsg=iomsg) this%COO(i)%col
        write(unit, iostat=iostat, iomsg=iomsg) this%COO(i)%row
        write(unit, iostat=iostat, iomsg=iomsg) this%COO(i)%val
    end do
    end subroutine write_container_sample_impl