Intel® Fortran Compiler
Build applications that can scale for the future with optimized code designed for Intel® Xeon® and compatible processors.

Rather unconventional question

florian_hanne
Beginner
Hello,

I am a student currently working on an experiment on wind tunnel contractions. One of the famous methodologies for the contraction design is based on Fortran66 ( I believe - the program was written in 1973).

All I have right now is a paper-copy of the program. Since I am not a programmer - how could I possibly use this program to calculate the contraction? I tried w/ google - nothing really helpful came out. My programming skill is rather rudimentary - I know some VBA, if that counts.

All the program does is calculate points of the contour through iteration of values.

Please, if you know an old compiler that runs under windows XP, or have any other idea how i can solve this problem, let me know!

Thanks ind advance!

Florian
0 Kudos
9 Replies
Steven_L_Intel1
Employee

One of the many nice things about Fortran is that old code continues to work in today's compilers. Intel Visual Fortran fully supports FORTRAN 66 code. At most you may have to set the /f66 option to specify F66 semantics for such things as 1-trip DO loops.

I suggest that you just type in the program and try it. If you get errors, let us know what they are and we'll be glad to help.

0 Kudos
anthonyrichards
New Contributor III
..or, if the program is a long one, scan the paper copy in and use OCR software to turn the images into text, carefully looking for mismatches between the paper and OCR-translated versions. It will save the donkey-work of typing in at least.
0 Kudos
Steven_L_Intel1
Employee

Since it is FORTRAN 66 code, you will need to understand the fixed source form conventions.

Statement labels (numbers), if any, are in colums 1-5. These columns must be blank otherwise, unless the line is a comment (starts with a C in column 1)