Intel® Fortran Compiler
Build applications that can scale for the future with optimized code designed for Intel® Xeon® and compatible processors.

how to get started in terminal

jannemann
Beginner
Dear all, I recently changed to Mac Os X and want to use the Fortran Compiler. I worked with Compaq Visual Fortran under Windows, however I am still new to the world of programming. I installed the the compiler and tried to compile and run a program which is based on two f90 files which depend on each other using the Terminal.
Using " ifort Sticklebackvision.f90 VisualRange.f90 " I received a file "a.out" which is recognized as UNIX executable. How do I run this one to produce my results (just some text files with numbers).
Sorry to bother you with such a basic question, but I couldn't find an easy understandable introduction in the internet. And can anyone recommend a good book in which I would find answers to questions like this?
Thanks in advance,
Jan

0 Kudos
6 Replies
jimdempseyatthecove
Honored Contributor III

Jan,

If you have a local college or university or decent bookstore you may find a "... for Dummys". (OS/X for Dummys, Linux for Dummys, Unix for, Dummys, ...). Beginner type of books. Hopefully one will also have beginner programmers info as well.

Look in the table of contents for:

Command line syntax
Make file ...
Directory layout...

Personally I am not a Linux user. The command line differences between Linux and MS DOS (and console windows in Windows)to a limited degree is the transpositioni of "/" and "".

Jim Dempsey

0 Kudos
jimdempseyatthecove
Honored Contributor III

Jan,

I forgot to add....

Use Google and enter into the search line

linux command line syntax

You will get some good links.

Jim Dempsey

0 Kudos
Steven_L_Intel1
Employee
To run the program, type:

./a.out

I am not experienced in Linux, but as I understand it, the default PATH does not include the current directory, represented as ".".