Intel® Fortran Compiler
Build applications that can scale for the future with optimized code designed for Intel® Xeon® and compatible processors.

menu programming

VVit
New Contributor I

Hi,

I am trying to work on menu of a fortran program that I've created in VS. How do I program what actions when a menu item is selected?

I searched "Reference Manual" and found that "Fortran Windowing AppWizard" is mentioned but no details on how to get/utilize this AppWizard.

I am a beginner on this Intel Fortran VS and found that it's very slow to make any progress. 

YouTube post doesn't really have much regarding how-to on Intel Fortran with VS.

Are there any short courses that I can take as a beginner?

Thanks,

VVit

0 Kudos
14 Replies
Stephen_Sutcliffe
New Contributor II

I'd recommend you try to get a copy of this book. You might get it from Amazon or Ebay for less than £15 (used). It was published in 2002.

Stephen_Sutcliffe_0-1635287597686.png

You will have to change Windows handle declarations to integer(HANDLE) if you are writing 64-bit applications. 

Hope this helps.

VVit
New Contributor I

After some searches on the issue, I found a probable solution by using C#, .Net for GUI parts and combining them with the Fortran code. This is not my preferred method because I have zero background on C#/.Net and am afraid that I'd have additional problems along the way. 

Therefore, I'd like to make sure that it is not possible to do this with Intel fortran alone (in VS). I'd appreciate input on this.

Also, I'd welcome suggestions on how to develop programs using both C# and Fortran, eg. how to choose appropriate settings for this type of projects, do I choose "All language" when creating a new project?, what project templates do I need for this?, etc.

0 Kudos
JohnNichols
Valued Contributor III