Intel® Fortran Compiler
Build applications that can scale for the future with optimized code designed for Intel® Xeon® and compatible processors.

pipes and carriage control

ArturGuzik
Valued Contributor I
Dear All,

I used a code posted here by Jugoslav as an example of using pipes on Windows, redirecting own I/O to pipe ends etc. Everything works fine. I was able to print to console (using unit 0) and to pipe (using *) within the same program. However, have another pretty complex software, which prints to console, calls other programs (execs), and reports progress by using Fortran carriage control (in order to overwrite previous lines). And also within this code I need to implement pipes for IPC with one of the exec. And here problems start. It seems that commands are not written to pipe correctly. What I'm doing wrong, or where can I learn on what to do to make this working (correctly). I have some (limited) experience with this on Linux but...

Is this issue with carriage control or I did something wrong in a different place??

As an additional info - other execs also use Fortran carriage control (to print it's own status in single line) except the "piped" exe (I guess).

this is portion of Jugoslav's example and below I simply try to write (*, *) command string.
---------------------------------------------------------------------
IF (CreateProcess(NULL, Path, NULL, NULL, TRUE, 0, NULL, NULL, SI, PI).EQ.FALSE) THEN
WRITE(*,*) "Cannot create child process. Error code = ", GetLastError()
STOP
END IF

!Redirect our own I/O to appropriate pipe ends
!NB: you have to SetStdHandle BEFORE you write(*) anything to it.
!In a gui app, these handles are normally not used anyway.
iret = SetStdHandle(STD_OUTPUT_HANDLE, hChildStdInWr)
iret = SetStdHandle(STD_INPUT_HANDLE, hChildStdoutRd)
---------------------------------
My statements follow here.

------------------------------------------------------------
A.

0 Kudos
5 Replies
Jugoslav_Dujic
Valued Contributor II