Intel® Fortran Compiler
Build applications that can scale for the future with optimized code designed for Intel® Xeon® and compatible processors.

question about Modules and COMMON blocks

Brian_Murphy
New Contributor II

I am a novice in the use of Modules, and I've got a question. 

I have a very old code that uses dozens of named common blocks.  I am considering replacing each with a Module of the same name.  Is that a wise thing to do?  I think I will end up with a single .f90 file containing all the named Modules, and replacing all the named COMMON statements and associated variable declarations appearing throughout the code with USE statements with the same names.

Every routine throughout the code has IMPLICIT NONE in it, and I think that will help me along the way.

0 Kudos
31 Replies
andrew_4619
Honored Contributor II

Yes the should work but there are some BUTS. Commons are were often used as a workspace to save memory, so the variables in a particular common my not be the same names or types in different parts of the software in this case your approach will fail big time!

0 Kudos
Steve_Lionel
Honored Contributor III

Creating a separate module for each COMMON seems extreme to me, though it does allow you to see who is using any particular shared variable. Is that a requirement? 

I am in favor of the approach "If it ain't broke, don't fix it." I don't see that you'll gain anything significant by simply converting COMMONs to module variables, other than an "appearance" of being more modern. Unless there is a good reason to make this change, I'd suggest not doing it.