Intel® Graphics Performance Analyzers (Intel® GPA)
Improve your game's performance by quickly specifying problem areas
488 Discussions

GPA 3.0: No DX/GPU metrics are being recorded with my DX9 EX application

rdavies_intel
Beginner
Hi All,
I'm new to the GPA tools, but have setup a target/host system setup and have successfully run the gpasample.exe and see my host machine collecting GPU/DX metrics.

If I run my application, which is MFC with DirectX(D3D) surfaces with windows I see no GPU or DX metrics showing up in the UI?

Does the application have to register with the DirectX/GPU or GPA in any special way?

Thanks

-Richard
0 Kudos
1 Solution
Neal_Pierman
Valued Contributor I
Hello,

It ends up that GPA does not support DX9 EX; when checking with our customer base, we find that most of them have moved directly to DX10 or DX11.

However, we are interested in hearing about your use of the product with DX9 EX -- please include more information about your specific game/application, and I'll pass this information onto the product team.

Thanks!

Regards,

Neal

ps->Anyone else out there using DX9 EX? If so, we would like to hear from you as well...

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
7 Replies
Neal_Pierman
Valued Contributor I
Richard,

Please be sure that your application is actually running in DX mode -- there's the possibility that it's using an OpenGL driver, which is why you won't see any DX or GPU metrics.

If this doesn't work, please run the gpa_system_inspector.exe utility that's included in the install area for the Intel GPA product, and copy that info here.

Thanks!

Neal

0 Kudos
Neal_Pierman
Valued Contributor I
Hello Richard,

I just wanted to follow up on this to see whether you've been able to get your application to display DX/GPU metrics. Any luck on this?