Intel® ISA Extensions
Use hardware-based isolation and memory encryption to provide more code protection in your solutions.

Instruction dependencies

vladkons
Beginner
Hi, I am new to SSE programming and I was just wondering if someone more experienced could explained this to me:

When I sum elements in an array like this:

for(i...N; i+=16){
sumA += array
sumB += array[i+4]
sumC += array[i+8]
sumD += array[i+12]
}

Why is it not faster when compared to: for(i...N;i+=4) { sum +=array; } ?

It is actually a bit slower. I was under the impression that this inctruction level parallelism should speed it up. I checked it using Intel Architecture Code Analyzer and the performace critical path is about the same (while thesecond version sums only one float4 at a time), so I would expect the first version to be faster. Can someone explain why is my assumption wrong and what is limiting the performance?

I have been testing it on 06_17H, compiled in both 32 and 64bits by VS2010, memory of the array is locked to get rid of page faults, prefetches are in place
0 Kudos
13 Replies
jimdempseyatthecove
Honored Contributor III
What data types are sumA, sumB, sumC, sumD and array?

Jim Dempsey
0 Kudos
vladkons
Beginner
sumA, sumB, etc are __m128, the array is 16byte aligned array of floats

So inside the loop I do this for every sum variable:
sumA = _mm_add_ps(sumA, _mm_load_ps(&elements));

And I sum the temp sums after the loop finishes
0 Kudos
jimdempseyatthecove
Honored Contributor III
Have you looked at the dissassembly code? (/O3)

Your loop should require 4 temps for the fetch of the elements and 4 temps for the sumA, ...
However, this is an AVX forum so consider using _mm256_add_ps(... where sumA, ... are __mm256 types.
IOW each instruction adds 8 floats. (change loop to use +8)

Jim Dempsey
0 Kudos
TimP
Honored Contributor III