Intel® ISA Extensions
Use hardware-based isolation and memory encryption to provide more code protection in your solutions.

SSE2 vectorized code seems to run slower than non-vectorized code

acctpurge_a_1
Novice

Hi everyone:

This is my first time posting to the forum. I have a lot of experience designing and optimizing assembly language routines for signal processing. Until recently, this was on what you might call predictable architectures (Moto 56k DSP and PowerPC). I am now doing this on an x86, and having difficulty understanding where timing changes are occurring.

I'm only interested in optimizing one loop: a second-order section (a basic building block of digital filters). The loop processes one sample, reading it in from memory, doing the math and updating the internal states, and writing the sample out again (on top of where it was read from). The loop executes N times, where N is the number of samples in the buffer.

I began by writing the loop in C++, then turning on the SSE2 optimizations in the compiler (Visual Studio) and grabbing the disassembly. I then manually removed all the unnecessary re-loads of registers that never changed and whatnot, and ended up with something like a 15% improvement in speed. So far so good.

All the arithmetic is double precision, with the core being five multiplies and four adds. The compiler did not vectorize. I combined four multiplies into two vectorized multiplies, and three adds into two vectorized adds (there is a redundant add to zero). Using both halves of XMM registers also freed up space so all the constants could be loaded into registers outside the loop. The total code length is shorter. And yet, this version runs slightly *slower* than the previous version (by maybe 5%). I've verified that the code is in fact correct and the numbers are not becoming denormalized.