Intel® Integrated Performance Primitives
Deliberate problems developing high-performance vision, signal, security, and storage applications.
6704 Discussions

H264VideoDecoder Init() is OK but GetInfo() fails.

mojonez1
Beginner

Im an IPP newbie, but ran out of things to try so thought posting here might help.

I'm encoding/decoding with the H264 encoder/decoder. Encoding seems to be working fine. Raw h264 bitstreams written to file playback correctly with the simple player sample.

My problem is in my encode routineI write the encoded samples to an AVI file using the DirectShow AVI file writer filter. The resulting AVI file plays back correctly in Windows Media Player using the Lead H264 codec. Using the IPP H264 decoder, however, with the simple player just plays back the audio:

C:Program FilesIntelIPPipp-samplesaudio-video-codecs\_binwin32_cl7>simple_
player Leader-transcoded.avi
Audio Render : DSOUND

Stream Type : AVI
Video Info :
-Video Type : UNDEF
-Resolution : 720x480
-Frame Rate : 29.97
Audio Info :
-Audio Type : PCM
-S.Frequency : 32000
-Num.Channel : 2
-BitPerSample: 16

Error in audio render

Using the IPP H264 decoder in my routine, the Init() function returns OK, but the subsequent GetInfo() fails.

If anyone has any ideas for me to try I sure appreciate it.

My code:

UMC::Status ret;

m_pDecoder = new UMC::H264VideoDecoder();
	m_pDecoderParams = new UMC::VideoDecoderParams();
	UMC::BaseCodec* pPointerCopier = new UMC::DataPointersCopy();
	UMC::VideoProcessing* color = new UMC::VideoProcessing();

UMC::VideoProcessingParams postProcessingParams;
	postProcessingParams.m_DeinterlacingMethod = (UMC::DeinterlacingMethod)(0 & UMC::FLAG_CCNV_DEINTERLACE);
        postProcessingParams.InterpolationMethod = 0;
        color->SetParams(&postProcessingParams);

m_pDecoderParams->pPostProcessing  = color;
	//m_pDecoderParams->pPostProcessing  = pPointerCopier;
	m_pDecoderParams->info.stream_type = UMC::H264_VIDEO;
        m_pDecoderParams->numThreads = 1;