Intel® Integrated Performance Primitives
Deliberate problems developing high-performance vision, signal, security, and storage applications.
6709 Discussions

Latest version of libiomp5md creates instability in an established application

John_S_18
Beginner
Im seeking technical support with regard to the IPP library as relates to the latest version of libiomp5md.dll [v5.0.2011.606, 12 Aug 11], originally shipped with IPP v7.0.4.221. I am currently using IPP v7.0.5.233, which also uses the *.606 version of libiomp5md.dll. This latest version of the Intel OpenMP libraryl has created great instability and unpredictability in a very established code base of mine.

Background:

I have been using IPP for over 3 years since v5.2, primarily drawing from the ippi and ipps libraries for a Windows-based instrument control application written in native [MFC] C++. I have upgraded IPP many times without incident, but the latest two versions have been very problematic. The problem has been traced to the version of libiomp5m.dll deployed with the latest two IPP releases [7.0.4.221 and 7.0.5.233]. When I simply substitute the previous version of libiomp5m.dll [v5.0.2011.325, 28 Apr 11] at runtime, application stability is restored. Note that the application was linked against v7 Release 5 libraries, but the v*.325 libiomp5md.dll released with IPP v7.0.4.196 must be used at runtime.

Environment:

Here are some details about the development and runtime environments.

Compiler

o Microsoft v10.0

IDE

o VisualStudio 2010 SP1

Runtime Environments:

1. Single CPU configuration using Xeon X3450 @ 2.67GHz; 10 GB RAM

2. Dual-CPU configuration using Xeon E5649s @ 2.53GHz; 10 GB RAM

OS

o Window 7 Professional, SP1 [all Windows Updates run to date]

Application

o MFC C++ application

o multi-threaded with dynamic linking to Windows runtime DLLs and to IPP DLLs