Intel® Integrated Performance Primitives
Deliberate problems developing high-performance vision, signal, security, and storage applications.

why so large difference hanppens ?

frogsu
Beginner

Dear IPP Technologist:
Im greatly appreciated that you will pay attention to my technique questions. Im a student from SJTU university and major in Information Engineering. Our lab buy the product of IPP 5.1 software. Recently I make use of Intel IPP software to do signal demodulation application, but meet a problem which puzzles me for a long time.
I made a test to run a demodulation procedure which adopts IPP signal processing library on the two servers whose configurations are listed whereafter respectively. The test conditions is shown as follows:

Software Operating System: Windows Server 2003 Professional Edition
Programming Software: Visual Studio 2005
IPP Version: IPP Version 5.1 and IPP Trial Version 6.1

Server Configuration

ServerType CPU Type Memory Type
HP ProLiant DL380 G4 Intel Xeon CPU 3.60GHZ 2 cores 4GB DDR2
PowerLeader P2310N Intel Xeon CPU E5520 @2.27GHZ4 cores 4GB DDR3

The IPP signal processing functions I have uesed in the procedure are listed
ippsCos_64f_A53
ippsFIRGenBandpass_64f
ippsZero_64f
ippsFIRInitAlloc_64f
ippsFIRGenLowpass_64f
ippsConvert_16s64f_Sfs
ippsFIRSetDlyLine_64f
ippsFIR_64f
ippsFIRGetDlyLine_64f
ippsMul_64f
ippsSampleDown_64f
ippsConvert_32f16s_Sfs
ippsConvert_64f32f
ippsFIRFree_64f
ippsFree
ippsMalloc_64f

Test Results

Server Type Integer Operation Efficiency Float Operation Efficiency Memory Bandwidth
HP ProLiant DL380 G4 17.52GIPS 21.45GFLOPS 3.36GB/s
PowerLeader P2310N 93.64GIPS 66.68GFLOPS 15.19GB/s