Intel® Moderncode for Parallel Architectures
Support for developing parallel programming applications on Intel® Architecture.

A couple of memory model questions

jseigh
Beginner
Can loads pass subsequent stores? Can a load from a storage location different than that of a subsequent load occur after the store? For example if the load location isn't in cache and the store location is in cache.

If yes, then I guess you need an MFENCE as a memory barrier to a store.release operation unless your prior accesses were just stores.
0 Kudos
4 Replies
ClayB
New Contributor I
Joe -
I'm no expert at this kind of thing, so I went to someone that knows more than I. Here is his answer to your questions:

Id recommend that they read

http://www.intel.com/design/itanium/downloads/25142901.pdf if they have not already. (Though by the terminology they are using, they may have already read it.)

I believe that the answer to the question is that loads can pass subsequent plain stores to a different location. But a load may not pass a subsequent store.release. So just a store.release should be necessary, not a full MFENCE, though from the question it is not clear what the questioner is trying to do exactly.

--clay
0 Kudos
Chris_M__Thomasson
New Contributor I

though from the question it is not clear what the questioner is trying to do exactly.

I believe he is trying to figure how many MFENCE instructions are needed for an IA-32/64 implementation of SMR.

My implementation uses an MFENCE to prevent IA-32 from reordering the load, after store to another location case. I think we may need an extra MFENCE when you store into a hazard pointer that was null. Joe pointed this out on comp.programming.threads.

0 Kudos
rshpount
Beginner