Intel® Moderncode for Parallel Architectures
Support for developing parallel programming applications on Intel® Architecture.

Image processing and threading

David_S_Intel4
Employee
In his introductory post Rdwells mentions focus on pipelined image processing.

Who else here has an interest and experience in that area?

Rdwells, any pressing threading questions to like ask? experiences to share?

--D

rdwells wrote:

"I've been working with multithreaded software for about 5 years now (so I'm a relative newcomer around here, it seems!), mainly to do pipelined image processing.:
0 Kudos
19 Replies
Robert_Schultz
Beginner

Hello, I hope you are (or someone similar) is still around.

I'm prepping to create a 2D image processing DLL which use classic Erosion/Dilation algorithms, BUT, on several million pictures in kind of a batch mode. (64 bit with 32 bit compatibility).

I'm somewhat new to the Intel toolset so first, I need advise on which tools I really need. I've already ordered the compiler, IPP and vTune; I suspect I need the MKL and ThreadChecker. Your thoughts?

Also, I could really benifit from any advise, white papers, sample code etc. that deal with things like erosion, dilation and related functions.

Thanks in advance for any advise!

--Rob.

0 Kudos
TimP
Honored Contributor III

The questions might better be dealt with on the Visual Computing forum.

MKL TBB and IPP are included in the Intel Professional C++ compiler.

VTune is an excellent tool for performance tuning, particularly for batch mode runs taking upwards of several seconds. Even without VTune, the openmp profiling library is useful for OpenMP, /Qparallel, and MKL threaded region analysis (don't know about IPP).

Parallel Studio Inspector has been advocated pending a new product capable of running on Windows 7 as a successor to Thread Checker. You might try evaluations when you are ready. You don't need them unless you thread explicitly, by OpenMP or thread library calls.

0 Kudos