Intel® Moderncode for Parallel Architectures
Support for developing parallel programming applications on Intel® Architecture.
1696 Discussions

Intel pentium 4 with HT, 2nd thread " Disabled by User.

swapnilrustagi1
Beginner
Since, I am not a hardware expert( Well, I'm a Software master) I do not open my desktop computer(opening means opening the CPU BOX). Rather, I use EVEREST Ultimate Edition v5.50 for getting hardware details. My Intel Pentium 4 Prescott 2.4A Ghz as reported by Intel Processor ID utility shows that I do not have HT(Hyper-Threading because my CPU does not support it. But EVEREST showed two cores, one enabled and the other's status "Disabled by User". It is correct because my BIOS specifications show that I have a Pentium 4 with HT processor. How can I enable HT?
0 Kudos
1 Solution
gaston-hillar
Valued Contributor I
I'm not an Intel employee. However, I know what you're talking about.
A few years ago, I waste money on a motherboard that supported 16 GB RAM. It worked fine with 8 GB RAM. However, when I upgraded to 16 GB RAM, it had a horrible bug in the BIOS. I had to wait for 6 months to use the BIOS upgrade. Any OS took 10 minutes to boot because of the bug that made memory run 100 times slower.
It seems that either your BIOS or your motherboard don't support Hyper-Threading. Some utilities like Everest show information considering the CPUID or the capabilities reported by the CPU.
What does CPU-Z tell you about the CPU?

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
9 Replies
timintel
Beginner
If your CPU supports HT, there will be a BIOS setup option to enable or disable it. It's entirely possible that a previous owner changed the setting. For example, they may have wished to run software with threading bugs. It's also possible that some were sold with HT disabled at the fab, in which case you would have no way to enable it, even though your processor ID utilities see the feature.
0 Kudos
gaston-hillar
Valued Contributor I