Intel® Moderncode for Parallel Architectures
Support for developing parallel programming applications on Intel® Architecture.

MPI

chdthanh
Beginner
Dear
Can I use MPI in Intel fortran 10.1.021 and E7200 Intel Core 2 duo? I am studying MPI and trying my first simple example but I can not link. The error is
hello.obj : error LNK2019: unresolved external symbol _MPI_INIT referenced in function _MAIN__
Thanks
Thanh
0 Kudos
7 Replies
TimP
Honored Contributor III
If you want a pre-built MPI to work with ifort, you need Intel MPI. If using an open source MPI, you must follow their instructions to configure and build. Are you using the mpif77/mpif90/mpiifort wrapper according to your choice of MPI?
0 Kudos
chdthanh
Beginner

Dear:
I am using Visial Studio as enrivonment for intel fortran. I am studying MPI by myself so I do not understand what you said about ifort, mpif70.. Are they commands in Unix OS?
Can I study and practice MPI on my destop computer? If can, what should I need?
What is pre-build?
My fisrt example is

program hello

include 'mpif.h'

integer rank, size, ierror

call MPI_INIT(ierror)

call MPI_COMM_SIZE(MPI_COMM_WORLD, size, ierror)

call MPI_COMM_RANK(MPI_COMM_WORLD, rank, ierror)

print *, 'I am MPI process', rank, ' of ', size

call MPI_FINALIZE(ierror)

end

Many thanks
0 Kudos
TimP
Honored Contributor III
If you made any study of MPI, you would have seen that many popular MPI implementations are open source, even for running on Windows. This means you must read up on them, configure and compile them according to instructions. All MPI versions provide compiler wrappers which translate the MPI macros and link the MPI libraries automatically, once you have configured them correctly. Guesswork won't do. You can't expect intelligent answers about specific implementations if you don't divulge which one you are using.