Intel® Moderncode for Parallel Architectures
Support for developing parallel programming applications on Intel® Architecture.

Newbie problem with compiler options / OpenMP

marco_ganz
Beginner
Hello!
I'm new to threading, hyperthreading and OpenMP so please forgive me if my questions have "obvious" answers.
I'm tyring to add multithreading support to my Monte Carlo application in order to exploit the 8 CPUs (4 physical x2 by HyperThreading) in my new "CPU Server". I'm compiling with the newest Intel C/C++ compiler within the VS.NET 2002 IDE.
Myapplication relies almost completely on thread specific dynamically allocated memory (paths length and number is selected at runtime - different threads process different bunches of paths, independent one from the other). Global results are summarised by "reduction" clauses. Input parameters are shared between trades.
Question #1: in order to overcome heap locking issues I've replaced all "new" and "delete"operators by calls to the special "kmp_calloc" and "kmp_free" functions. Is that correct / wise / suggested / useless?
Results seem quite promising in debug mode (I see my 8 processors running at 100% and total execution time is roughly 1/5th compared to single thread execution) BUT as soon as I recompile in "Release" mode performances get MUCH WORSE: CPU still at 100% but execution time explodes!
Question #2: are there optimizations which should be avoided when compilingmultithreaded code?
Any suggestions?
Thank you very much!
-- Marco --
0 Kudos
3 Replies
marco_ganz
Beginner
Yesterday after posting my message I made a few changes to my code and suddenly the perf problem disappeared. After undoing the changes (at least those I'm aware of) perfs are still good so I can't reproduce the problem I observed yesterday.
Cheers
-- Marco --
0 Kudos
ClayB
New Contributor I

Marco -

Um..., Happy to be of service (I guess).