Intel® Moderncode for Parallel Architectures
Support for developing parallel programming applications on Intel® Architecture.
1696 Discussions

OpenMP-compatible threading of non-inline functions

marcusexoticmatter_c
Hello,
I recently purchased the Intel C++ Compiler 11.1, having previously been using gcc, and thus, I am new to this Intel forum. I apologize beforehand if I've put this question in the wrong forum... :)

I am developing a Linux/OSX based application which features a programming API my customers can use to write their own plug-ins. One of the main features of this API is the idea of function callbacks, where the user can write his/her own function, and then having the API access this function through a callback mechanism. Another big feature of my application is that it's threaded using OpenMP. This is fine, except for the restriction that the functions threadable by OpenMP must, essentially, have no side-effects outside the scope of the thread, which means it has to be an inline function calling only other inline functions, with only const parameters (or thread-private variables). That is fine. However, for this callback mechanism, there is no way to do this because the function to be called is unknown at the time when my API is compiled (it's just a function-pointer).

Given that for 99% of other cases involving threading, OpenMP is fine since it's all internally threaded code where I can provide inline implementations etc. So I could use pthreads or something like that for this once instance of the callback. However I've heard that mixing OpenMP and pthreads (or other threading systems) is unsafe, so I am asking for some advice on how to do this. Is there no way to use the OpenMP API to do pthreads-like "manual" forks and joins, where I can pass in any C function, inline or not?

Please advice,
thank you
Marcus Nordenstam
0 Kudos
6 Replies
jimdempseyatthecove
Honored Contributor III

Marcus,