Intel® Moderncode for Parallel Architectures
Support for developing parallel programming applications on Intel® Architecture.

OpenMP on i7-4700mq Resource Utilization

sv1
Beginner

Greetings,

While experienced on gpgpu, I am new to OpenMP. My cpu has 4  cores / 8 threads.

To verify my affinity settings, I tried this:

static void test(int numThreads){
 omp_set_num_threads(numThreads);
#pragma omp parallel
 {
  int tmax = omp_get_max_threads();
  int tnum = omp_get_thread_num();
  int nproc = omp_get_num_procs();
  int ncores = nproc / 2;

kmp_affinity_mask_t mask;
  kmp_create_affinity_mask(&mask);
  kmp_set_affinity_mask_proc(tnum, &mask);
  if(0 != kmp_set_affinity(&mask))
    printf("Error::kmp_set_affinity() for thread %d\n", tnum);
  //Just to see load on the thread(s)
  while(1);
 }
}

and, sure enough, utilization went all the way up on all 8 threads. Also tried some combinations of threads (eg. even numbered, odd numbered, etc) and utilization was just as I expected: selected threads went all the way up.

Next, I tried a pointwise array multiplication:

static void test(int numThreads, uint64_t* a, uint64_t* b, uint64_t* c, uint64_t segSz){
 omp_set_num_threads(numThreads);
#pragma omp parallel
 {
  int tmax = omp_get_max_threads();
  int tnum = omp_get_thread_num();
  int nproc = omp_get_num_procs();
  int ncores = nproc / 2;

kmp_affinity_mask_t mask;
  kmp_create_affinity_mask(&mask);
  kmp_set_affinity_mask_proc(tnum, &mask);
  if(0 != kmp_set_affinity(&mask))
   printf("Error::kmp_set_affinity() for thread %d\n", tnum);
  for(int i = tnum * segSz; i < (tnum + 1) * segSz; i++)
   a = c * b;
 }
}

The speedup over the serial version is about x4, not x8 that I was expecting.

Does the cpu have an ALU per core or per thread? If it has only 4 ALUs (one ALU per core => 2 threads sharing an ALU), that would explain the x4  speedup due to partial serialization.

Any other explanations ?

Thanks in advance.

0 Kudos
1 Solution
jimdempseyatthecove