Intel® Moderncode for Parallel Architectures
Support for developing parallel programming applications on Intel® Architecture.

Threading and Massive Multiplayer Games

David_S_Intel4
Employee
NetDevil mentioned in his Introductory post that he may have threading questions related to the development of Massive Multiplayer Games, see message, copied below.

Anyone else out there also have experience in this area?

NetDevil, please ask away . . .Your very own version of stump the band!

--d

NetDevil wrote:

I am a senior programmer at NetDevil; we make massive multiplayer games. As you can imagine, we have a lot of threading issues to worry about on our servers! We're currently working on a game due to be released at the end of 2004-ish, tentatively called Auto Assault, to be published under NCSoft. To make things fun, this game uses a realtime Physics engine with a full vehicle model (suspensions, gear ratios...). Weeeee! Ready for those questions? :)
0 Kudos
5 Replies
netdevil
Beginner
Hehe, I'm not ignoring you, I've just been busy what with E3 recently behind us now ;).

The general architecture behind our most troublesome (logical) server is that there are a number of "sectors" that run independent of each other physically. Under most circumstances there aren't more than 10 players in each of these instances, but the physics is pretty intense nonetheless, because we're taking more of a "mass carnage" approach than most MMORPGs you might be familiar with... so we have a large enemy AI to Player ratio, and the AI not only has to do tactical/flocking/group AI, but also physics for vehicular or creature movement, pathfinding, weapons targeting, etc. We have an advantage in scalability, since we can always "just add" more physical servers and distribute additional sectors to it, but by the same token we have to handle quite a few players/sectors on each machine to maintain our desired cost-to-user ratios.