Intel® Moderncode for Parallel Architectures
Support for developing parallel programming applications on Intel® Architecture.

creating thread schedular framework at os level

atulchavan
Beginner
now everywhere, in companies,academic instituations,and all home desktop computers having dual core or more than that...
but many of the application are not making proper usage of this resources i.e., some of the applications will make use of only one core instead of both.
so can we design a thread schedular framework at the os level such that it should be application independent i.e., any user application can make best usage of resources (dual core, quad core... etc ..)
i am a student, this is idea just came in my mind.
i want to do this as my project for my academic year.
can anyone suggest me , am i on the right path of implementation or not?
please reply..
0 Kudos
8 Replies
jimdempseyatthecove
Honored Contributor III

You already have thread scheduling framework supplied by the O/S. What's missing on the O/S side is implemented on the application side within the application itself by way of an application threading and/or tasking programming paradigm. OpenMP, Cilk, Threading Building Blocks (TBB), pthreads, QuickThread and many others. Each paradigm has its strengths and weaknesses. These paradigms are layered onto the language.