Intel® Moderncode for Parallel Architectures
Support for developing parallel programming applications on Intel® Architecture.

parallel code running slower than serial code

Claudio_C_
Beginner

I tried to write a simple code to repeatedly compute greek pi by simulation and then compare the performance of the serial vs parallelized version of the code. To my great surprise the parallel code was slower ! Since I am a beginner I suspect I am not grasping some key aspects of parallel programming. Below I report the whole code. I am working with a version of an Intel 6700 processor with 4 cores.

I don't know if this forum is for this kind of questions, but thanks in advance for any help youc an give me.

PROGRAM:

program pigreco

! This program computes the value of greek pi "n" times using simulation
! Each time the computation is performed using "m" draws
! The computation is carried out by the subroutine "montec"
! In the end the average of th n simulations is computed and printed on screen

implicit none

integer i,n,m
parameter(n=3200,m=250000)
double precision greekpi(n),outp,avpi,den
double precision start_time,end_time

integer chunk,nthreads,omp_get_num_threads
parameter (chunk=400)

call CPU_TIME(start_time)

!$omp parallel private(i)
nthreads = omp_get_num_threads()
print*, 'number of threads',nthreads

!$omp do schedule(dynamic,chunk)
do i = 1,n
   call montec(m,outp)
   greekpi(i) = outp
   outp = 0.0d0
   !print*, i,greekpi(i)
end do
!$omp end do

!$omp end parallel

call CPU_TIME(end_time)

print*, 'average value of greek pi'
den = n
avpi = sum(greekpi)/den
print*, avpi

print*, 'running time'
print*, end_time - start_time

end program

subroutine montec(ndr,sol)
implicit none
integer ndr
double precision sol

integer i
double precision xr1,xr2,yv(ndr),sumsq,totins,tot

totins = 0.0d0
do i = 1,ndr
   call RANDOM_NUMBER(xr1)
   call RANDOM_NUMBER(xr2)
   sumsq = xr1**2.0d0 + xr2**2.0d0
   if (sumsq.le.1.0d0) then
       totins = totins + 1.0d0
   end if