Intel® Moderncode for Parallel Architectures
Support for developing parallel programming applications on Intel® Architecture.

why only acquire in xchg?

xt2
Beginner

why xchg only has acquire semantic?

I found an old post like this, but did not get the answer, i am an application developer,and learned some memory barrier concepts recently.

i ask this question because i found that windows is using xchg to implement its memory barrier,

http://windowssdk.msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ms684208.aspx

but shouldn't a memory barrier have both acquire and release semantics?

can anyone shed light on it, am i apparently misunderstanding something?

Thanks,

0 Kudos
3 Replies
jimdempseyatthecove
Honored Contributor III

The "void MemoryBarrier(void);" function is analogous to OpenMP FLUSH.

From the MS link:

>>
This macro is called when the order of memory reads and writes are critical for program operation. It is often used with multithread synchronization functions such as InterlockedExchange.

This macro can be called on all processor platforms where Windows is supported, but it has no effect on some platforms. The definition varies from platform to platform. The following are some definitions of this macro in Winnt.h:

#define MemoryBarrier _mm_mfence

FORCEINLINE
VOID
MemoryBarrier (
VOID
)
{
LONG Barrier;
__asm {
xchg Barrier, eax
}
}

#define MemoryBarrier __mf
<<

In the above it eludes that the macro is used in InterlockedExchangebut I believe they should have said the technique is used.

I do not have a copy of InterlockedExchange here but I venture to guess it looks something like:

LONG InterlockedExchange(
LONG volatile* Target,
LONG Value
)
{
__asm {
mov eax, dword ptr [Value]
mov edx, dword ptr [Target]
xchg dword ptr [edx], eax
}
}

The InterlockedExchange can be used for acquiring and releasing things like a SpinLock or an OpenMP critical section.