Intel® Quartus® Prime Software
Intel® Quartus® Prime Design Software, Design Entry, Synthesis, Simulation, Verification, Timing Analysis, System Design (Platform Designer, formerly Qsys)
16596 Discussions

Blinking a LED on DE10-Lite board (MAX10 FPGA)

Priesemut
Beginner

Hello everybody out there using FPGAs,

I'm new to FPGA development and trying to blink a LED on the DE10-Lite board.

I carefully followed the steps on "How to program your first FPGA device" (https://software.intel.com/content/www/us/en/develop/articles/how-to-program-your-first-fpga-device.html), but the assignment of the pins on the DE10-Lite board differs as far as a understand.

I think I will have to adapt the lines

module blink (
	input wire clk, // 50MHz input clock
	output wire LED // LED ouput
);

but renaming them according to the pin assignment planner didn't really help.

I can always compile the design and upload it with the USB interface, but none of the LEDs on the board is blinking.

When compiling the design I get a warning equivalent to the following for each pin:

Warning (10034): Output port "DRAM_ADDR" at DE10_LITE_Golden_Top.v(46) has no driver

I'm not sure whether this is a problem.

I would be grateful for hints on which additional diagnostics to use in order to pin down the problem.

0 Kudos
1 Solution
sstrell
Honored Contributor III

If you have a DE-10 board and you're following those instructions, you shouldn't have to change anything.  I don't understand the warning you get because there is no DE10_Lite_Golden_Top.v file.