cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Valued Contributor III

D Flip Flop

Hi All, 

I created a simple VHDL D flip flop but saw strange results on the logic analyzer. The code is as follows: 

df:process(reset,clk) begin if(reset='1') then Q<=0; else if(clk'event AND clk='1') then if(A AND B) then Q<=D; else Q<=Q; end if; end if; end if; end process;  

Where reset,clk, A, Q, D, and B are standard logic vectors. When I view what is happening on the logic analyzer, I see that Q always follows the value of D, regardless of the value of A and B. I'm new to VHDL but what from what I understand Q should never be updated with D unless A and B are true on a clock edge.  

I also got a compiler warning in Quartus 12.1 about not having D in my sensitivity list.  

Is there something wrong with this code? 

Thanks, 

DigitalEE
0 Kudos
3 Replies
Highlighted
Valued Contributor III

Re: D Flip Flop

There could be a great many things wrong with it ... but you haven't posted a sufficient amount of code. 

For example the statement Q <= 0 is not valid for std_logic, it should be Q <= '0', but then again, perhaps you have included a conversion library ... 

Post a complete example, rather than a code snippet. 

Here's how I would normally write this piece of code; 

-- Start with only this library (you can get fancy later) library ieee; use ieee.std_logic_1164.all; .... process(clk, reset) begin if (reset = '1') then q <= '0'; elsif rising_edge(clk) then if ((a = '1') and (b = '1')) then q <= d; end if; end if; end process;  

Note the use of elsif, and also note that I've assumed a and b are std_logic, so to turn them into boolean I've compared them with a std_logic '1'. I do this out of habit, the syntax you have used might be allowed with VHDL-2008. Play with this example and see what you are allowed to do and what you cannot. 

Cheers, 

Dave
0 Kudos
Highlighted
Valued Contributor III