Intel® Quartus® Prime Software
Intel® Quartus® Prime Design Software, Design Entry, Synthesis, Simulation, Verification, Timing Analysis, System Design (Platform Designer, formerly Qsys)
16597 Discussions

Delaying all incoming signals by 2 ms using VHDL

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi to all, I'm a finance student and I'm also interested in electronics, these days I do program because my limited of knowledge of this, so ask for help in here.I have two incoming signals that I want to test the coincidence between. But, I first want to delay all of the signals from one channel by the period at which the signals are being sent (2 ms) and compare the coincidence this way. So basically, I want to store the real-time information for 2 ms and then replay it as soon as it finishes collecting, and continue this process on and on. Is this feasible using an FPGA? I was thinking of using one of the following: 

outputA <= inputA after 2 ms; 

outputA <= inertial inputA after 2 ms; 

outputA <= transport inputA after 2 ms; 

but from what I understand, these are only used for simulation? What other method(s) would be better to accomplish such a task? Using a shift register, or something similar? 

edit: