Intel® Quartus® Prime Software
Intel® Quartus® Prime Design Software, Design Entry, Synthesis, Simulation, Verification, Timing Analysis, System Design (Platform Designer, formerly Qsys)
16623 Discussions

Fitter Pin Placement Constraint

CKPope
Novice

Hello,

I am a Lab Instructor at the University of Waterloo.

I have to provide some background context for the situation we now have.
An in-house board was developed way back when Quartus was still a part of Altera. Quartus was at v15.1. The pinout for the MAX10 FPGA was chosen and confirmed by the Fitter to be acceptable and the PCB was then designed and PCB Assemblies were made for numerous labs.

We have continued to use the Quartus v15.1 tools for the FPGA-related course using this board.

Starting with v16.1 and so on, the Fitter pin-placement rules have changed and the FPGA compiles no longer complete because one of the output pins (for driving an LED) is placed beside a PLL input pin.

The license for the v15.1 tools has finally expired and we are forced to move on to the newer tools.

Is there a setting somewhere with the Fitter, to ignore this placement constraint for our situation?

The Led pins are seldom changed and with the earlier v15.1 tools, there were no operational errors.

Thank you for your time,
kind regards,

Charles

Labels (1)
0 Kudos
1 Solution
CKPope
Novice

Thank you !

Your work-around solution worked !!!!

All of the FPGA pins are assigned for the development board that we use in-house.

We use a .tcl script for the students to run before they begin their FPGA designs. The .tcl script has all pin assignment made.

When doing a Full Compile (v18.1 LITE) with the assignments the compile fails because of the earlier mentioned Fitter analysis.

If I then, comment out the pin assignment (see for leds[1] below) and save and run the .tcl file, the FPGA will now have that output pin unassigned. 

CKPope_0-1691592959886.png