Intel® Quartus® Prime Software
Intel® Quartus® Prime Design Software, Design Entry, Synthesis, Simulation, Verification, Timing Analysis, System Design (Platform Designer, formerly Qsys)
16603 Discussions

Inferred RAM: Pass-through logic generated despite no_rw_check

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Dear all, 

I'm a hobbyist currently learning VHDL. My learning vehicle is a self-developed RISC-V CPU that that I develop in the Lite edition of Quartus Prime 15.1. The CPU is working fine already, but I'd like to get some rough edges smoothed out and understand what's going on. 

My CPU has a unit that contains the CPU's registers. Quartus nicely infers RAM for the register file - however, it generates some pass-through logic for the particular read-during-write behavior it is seeing: 

--- Quote Start ---  

Warning (276020): Inferred RAM node "cpu_toplevel:cpu_instance|registers:reg_instance|regs_rtl_0" from synchronous design logic. Pass-through logic has been added to match the read-during-write behavior of the original design. 

--- Quote End ---  

The code: