Intel® Quartus® Prime Software
Intel® Quartus® Prime Design Software, Design Entry, Synthesis, Simulation, Verification, Timing Analysis, System Design (Platform Designer, formerly Qsys)

M20k block configuration

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi all! 

I'm new to OpenCL and the FPGA world in general and I'm just starting to grasp how to properly use M20K blocks for parallel accesses. 

Since I need very many of them over several arrays that are actually shallow in depth, the result is that the RAM usage explodes, while the single block is heavily underused. 

I bumped into the __attribute__((merge(...))) directive in the documentation. This should allow to implement different variables in the same memory subsystem. 

However, when I insert it, the "aoc -c ..." complains saying it doesn't know such an attribute. 

Is there a workaround or a solution to the problem? 

Edit: I'm using OpenCL 16.1 which is the most recent version supported by my board
0 Kudos
3 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

I had never seen this attribute before, it seems it has been recently (and silently) added to the documentation, without proper description or examples. This attribute, whatever it actually does, is certainly not supported in Quartus v16.1, or likely even 17.0.