Intel® Quartus® Prime Software
Intel® Quartus® Prime Design Software, Design Entry, Synthesis, Simulation, Verification, Timing Analysis, System Design (Platform Designer, formerly Qsys)
16596 Discussions

Minimum fpga dev-kit/fpga

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi Everyone, I am new to opencl and fpga programming. I would like to know some good fpga boards where i can test my some ideas. Looks to me opencl too have licensed attached. Also pls clear my confusion after reading so many pages on fpga's , Are intel and altera opencl same or do they have some differences (i know the merger). I come from SDR world. Thank you.

0 Kudos
7 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Regarding boards, a few of Altera's board partners have Stratix V, Arria 10 and Cyclone 5 SoC boards with OpenCL support. Altera's reference Stratix V and Arria 10 boards also support OpenCL. You can find more info by following the links posted in the "FPGA Platforms" section here: 

https://www.altera.com/products/design-software/embedded-software-developers/opencl/developer-zone.html 

Depending on your budget, you can choose from the 100$ Cyclone SoCs to high-end Arria 10 board for a couple thousand dollars. 

Regarding Altera and Intel, Altera is now called Intel Programmable Solutions Group (PSG) and their OpenCL SDK has been renamed from "Altera SDK for OpenCL" to "Intel FPGA SDK for OpenCL"; so, the OpenCL SDK for FPGAs from Altera and Intel are the same. However, there is also an "Intel SDK for OpenCL" which is a different SDK that can be used on Intel CPUs, iGPUs and Xeon Phi.
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Thank you. All clear now just got mixed up with gpu and fpga's SDKs.  

--- Quote Start ---