Intel® Quartus® Prime Software
Intel® Quartus® Prime Design Software, Design Entry, Synthesis, Simulation, Verification, Timing Analysis, System Design (Platform Designer, formerly Qsys)
16557 Discussions

Newcomer to VHDL, need help with debugging

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Ok so I started learning VHDL about two months ago or so and recently I was handed the following code: 

https://pastelink.net/1xvg 

I kinda know what it does as the case statement of "contador" is easy to understand. Problem is I dunno what the "process(clock)" does nor how it contributes to the execution of the code. 

Could somebody explain/debug it to me? 

As far as I know I can divide the code into 3 blocks, the first one would have "rising edge (clock)" as signal entrance and would send CLK2 to the second block. The second block would send "contador" to the third block and that one would interact with the display/Raspberry. 

PD: "Contador" is the word for counter in Spanish btw :p.
0 Kudos
5 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Did you try to run any simulation?  

Process which are you asking for, just generates slower clock.  

clock is an input clock. Signal clkdiv works as a counter here: 

clkdiv<=clkdiv+"0000000000001"; 

With every new clock cycle, clkdiv is increased by 1.  

For every other value of clkdiv than 0, clk2 is '0'. When clkdiv is bigger than "0000000001000", it is again set to 0 and one cycle later, clk2 is set to '1', but only for one cycle of clock

if clkdiv="0000000000000" then clk2 <= '1'; else clk2<= '0'; end if; if clkdiv > "0000000001000" then clkdiv<="0000000000000"; end if;  

And then clk2 is used as a clock in other process... 

process(clk2) begin if(rising_edge(clk2)) then 

Is the answer ok for you? 

Regards, 

kolas
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

if(rising_edge(clock)) then if clkdiv="0000000000000" then clk2 <= '1'; else clk2<= '0'; end if; </code>