Intel® Quartus® Prime Software
Intel® Quartus® Prime Design Software, Design Entry, Synthesis, Simulation, Verification, Timing Analysis, System Design (Platform Designer, formerly Qsys)
16597 Discussions

Programmer Error Message: "Device Chain does not match physical device chain"

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

I am new in FPGA design so this question would be an easy one for experts: 

I try to download the "ondie_temp_demo.sof" from the example project "Temperature Sensor on Max10". I have connected the Max10 Dev kit with the 10m50daf484es fpga. Now, when I try to download via JTAG and USB-Blaster (USB connector J12) I get the error message: 

Error (209031): Device chain in Chain Description File does not match physical device chain -- expected 1 device(s) but found 2 device(s). 

http://www.alteraforum.com/forum/attachment.php?attachmentid=11094&stc=1  

In the graphic on the programmer GUI I see one device 10m50daf484es only. When I press the Auto Detect I can select the 10m50da first and two new devices are shown (10m50da and vtap10). When I now add my sof-file and try to program the device following error is shown: 

Error (209031): Device chain in Chain Description File does not match physical device chain -- expected 3 device(s) but found 2 device(s). 

http://www.alteraforum.com/forum/attachment.php?attachmentid=11093&stc=1  

So does anywone know what the problem is and why it does not work? 

Thanks in advance
0 Kudos
4 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Ok found it out. Simply click on the <none> of the first device and choose the file to download...

0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Generally after start the programmer, I will click Auto detect and then right click on the FPGA device to change file and then download.

0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi,